Use Coopers Wheat To Make Decent Hefeweizen?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Noodle

noodle
Reaction score
Hi!

Had my first wheat beer (a Franziskaner) and was blown away and have since discovered a love for hefeweizen. I want to brew my own, or at least get as close to one as I can, without having to buy a big pot to boil actual grains in (I'm a student lol). Basically I want to buy a kit and do the necessary pimping to get it right. Others have said these kits aren't very authentic tasting/a bit weak, so I want to tweak them properly to have a better chance of success.

What I've learned so far is that this might work:

-1.5kg coopers wheat malt extract/1.7kg tin coopers preachers hefe wheat.
-1kg (at least) wheat DME.
-some hallertau mittelfruh/Pearle hops as a hop tea.
-some white labs Bavarian hefeweizen yeast.
-brewed warmer than usual to get banana esters (I love bananas).
-brewed to 20L for more flavour.

Haven't been able to find a massive amount of info on how to modify coopers wheat kits so any directions on a good recipe to follow would be amazing!
I want to get brewing soon so will keep updated as to how it goes. :)

Thanks!

In that case I'll crack on with the festival kit and make a thread when I get going and do reviews etc. :) thanks for the advice