Walk before run?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SmokinMesa

Reaction score
Hey guys, so effectively a total newbie still reading and learning the basics.

I'd like to brew some hoppy IPAs but am unsure if that's too ambitious for my first brew.

Thing is I've gone off lager and don't drink real ale. I dont mind experimenting and/or failing. Happy to follow recipes and instructions if cheaper and potentially more rewarding than a "kit" (especially if likely to fail first few attempts).

I've not even bought any equipment yet.

Any warnings/advice/encouragement welcome. Thanks all.

Plenty of people have dived straight in with all grain so go for it if you feel you want to and I dont think a IPA is too complicated simply because grain bill is can be very simple and the hop schedule doesnt have to be too complicated either

I've have the same Beavertown glass from your profile which I 'liberated' from a youngs pub. I'm currently drinking a bitter out of it

Plenty of people have dived straight in with all grain so go for it if you feel you want to and I dont think a IPA is too complicated simply because grain bill is can be very simple and the hop schedule doesnt have to be too complicated either

I've have the same Beavertown glass from your profile which I 'liberated' from a youngs pub. I'm currently drinking a bitter out of it

Thanks for the advice. Yea that glass is direct from Beavertown, my girlfriend bought me it along with a tasty selection of beers.

Hi @SmokinMesa, not too long ago I was in the same situation as yourself. Rightly or wrongly I chose to give a few kits a go before moving on to all gain. I must say I am glad I did for a few reasons.