What Chemicals for Cider

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jobi-Wan Kenobi

Reaction score
as in the title really, what chemicals do I (as a complete beginner) need to buy to make cider from apple pulp?

I've been given a load of equipment, and will be investing in a good book, but in the meantime i'd like to know so I can stock back up on anything that's missing from this box full of stuff! :?

Campden tablet - If you want to kill of the wild yeasties and use cider yeast
Pectolase (Pectic enzyme) - helps stop a pectin haze forming

They are the only two major ones that I can think of. you can get other fancy ones to do different things but they are the only essential ones in my opinion. Its also important to steralise equipment.

Hope this helps :)

i reccomend getting some vinclear or add more pectolase as my apple cider came out really cloudy, even after a long wait.

Peapodmaster said:
my apple cider came out really cloudy, even after a long wait.
Define “long” ?

And you don't need to put “apple” in front of “cider”, like you would never put “grape” before “wine” ;)

Bit of a given but get some Sanitizer to give everything a good clean before you start. :thumb:

When I first say the thread I though that was the type of chemicals you were after.

Cheers

Marrsy

Well, i've always drunken pear cider before apple.. so.. i usually put it there ;).

It has taken 6 weeks now and its still cloudy.

my cider was very clear (because I'd left if on a shelf in the DJ for several months), but then when I moved it to bottle, the sediment got disturbed.