What razor do you use.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Ooooo missed the point.
Razorpit so you sharpen them, are you pleased with the result?

I started out, trying to sharpen and gave up.

I’ve being using a Mach 3 for a good few years, yes the blades are horribly overpriced and I am now rather interested in the ‘Razorpit‘ mentioned by Nashbrew but on the whole it works, it gives a clean shave and doesn’t leave my face a bleeding mess.

I've been using the usual Gillette for many years and though they're very pricy but I found a blade lasts for ages on me...maybe I have soft bum-fluffy whiskers, however in the last year or so I've not been getting anywhere near the life out of them (seems to have been a drop in quality) and it is now getting very pricy so have actually just got a decent electric shaver. Game changer....close enough shave, but alot less hassle than wet shaving especially if I'm away from home. Life is just too short.

I’ve got quite a few.
Gillette Fatboy adjustable from 1961
Gillette Slim adjustable from 1964
Merkur 34C Heavy Duty
Merkur slant bar
Fatip Picolo
Supply SE
and a couple of straight razor, DE blade of choice is Gillette 7 O Clock sharp edge. And I use a Gillett Guard from India for shaving my head.

Last edited:
Ages ago I moved back to a nice double edge razor and Derby blades.

Stunning shave, pleasure to use and a fraction of the price.

What are you guys using?

Double edge and Personna Platinum blades. When I moved to double-edge, I had no idea why anyone bought cartridges. Shave is much much better and it's dirt cheap.

The last time I bought blades I got 100 for £14.00 so 14p each, I only use a blade twice so 7p per shave, some people use for 4 or 5 shaves so even cheaper.