A new Brewer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldtimer

Reaction score
Greetings all.

I am new to the world of home brew, so I don't know what I doing.

My aim is to brew a good pint to enjoy on a quite summer evening whilst letting the world and it's troubles go by.
I can't do much else, being a pensioner money does not allow for greater things in life. But I am happy and good health so now all I need is a good pint of real ale and I could set the world on fire.
I have started, I have a 'Woodfords Wherry ' just coming up to complete first ferment.
My aim, once I get the confidence and knowhow, is to brew from the hops etc, maybe concoct my own brand of beer.
I live in a holiday area and it's just comming up to the start of the idiot season and as I live on the Norfolk Broads I can see all the ' Captain Birdseye ' chugging up the broads in their silly hats (at 4 mph) shouting 'Ahoy and Avast etc',
But nothing beats a good pint.
I am sure of the next few months I am gonna need a lot of help and advice, so no doubt I will asking some dumb questions of you all.
I am a member of another forum on here and they have been very helpful so far but you can never diddle too many fingers can you.
I will enjoy learning from you all. LEARNING being the operative word.
Cheers lads & lassies I know I will be in touch. :cheers:

Hi Oldtimer my dad started brewing kits when he retired, to stretch his pension a bit further, and continued for over 20 years untill he passed away. I know his only regret was he didn`t start sooner.

oldtimer said:
I live in a holiday area and it's just coming up to the start of the idiot season and as I live on the Norfolk Broads I can see all the ' Captain Birdseye ' chugging up the broads in their silly hats (at 4 mph) shouting 'Ahoy and Avast etc',
But nothing beats a good pint.