A Year in Beer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
[FONT=Verdana, serif]It's nearly a year since I returned to home brewing beer. I originally started years and years ago [/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]as a student with a few others, when we would go down to Tennants Brewery in Sheffield (long since gone), and scrounge some of their yeast to make 15 gallon batches from malt extract and hops bought from Boots, [/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]plus table sugar[/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]. [/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]Being students we were not too particular about what we drank as long as it was alcoholic. F[/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]rom being a student I carried on brewing and things got more so[/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]p[/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]histicated[/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]. I used to do partial mashes and fermented in an orange dustbin (yes that's correct, [/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]that was all that was available, no food grade FVs then[/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]) and used [/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]returnable [/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]2 pint pot stopper Bulmers Cider bottles before buying two Boots pressure barrels. In the end, [/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif]about 20 years ago,[/FONT][FONT=Verdana, serif] I stopped because I hadn't the time with the old method and kits were definitely not up to much, and I had trouble with the barrels sealing properly.[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana, serif]Anyway, that's the past, what of the present?[/FONT]