Advice On A Stalled All Grain Fermentation

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

David Woods

Reaction score
As I am still very new to A/G brewing I could use a bit of advice.

I brewed an A/G Amber Ale last week and followed the recipe exactly. I hit the correct mash temp etc and the brew seemed to go well. The initial gravity was a bit lower than the recipe at 1040 instead of 1042.

So into the temp controlled fridge and in kicked off about 16 hours later. The fridge temp has been bang on 21c as recommended. Fairly vigorous activity for a couple of days and then it seems to have slowed to a stop. The Tilt shows over two days it had dropped to 1014 which it has stayed for three days now. I planned on leaving in the fridge for 2 weeks anyway but could this have finished already?, this would mean a 3.1% beer - not good.

Could it have fermented and finished that quickly - not had any of my brews finish that quickly before. Has it stalled? if so what should I do. It has been in the fermenter for 6 days now.

So have I shown too much impatience - is it likely to continue to drop? The expected FG is 1008.5. I used Lallemand BRY 97 which I have not used before but came with the recipe kit.

As I am new to this I was wondering how to check the mash has completed properly - any tips? I know about using iodene but didn't do that here. I even let the 60 min mash go on a bit and then did a whirlpool/hopstand for 15 mins so it had plenty of time to convert. If anything the sparge may have been a little cooler than I would have liked but the recipe didn't specify a temp - I sparged at about 65c and as I was pretty close to the expected OG I wasn't concerned.

I am using a Brew Monk AIO

Any advice would be great - I will be leaving it for a while yet anyway. I still have a lot of learning to do!

Thanks

Last edited: