AG#6a&b - Hop Picker

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moley

Regular.
Reaction score
A bit late but I've only just got around to uploading the pics.

Thanks to everyone who helped with what hops to use and quantities thereof, 5kg of Pale malt plus 250g Crystal
PB10032701.jpg

went into 12 litres at 78°C giving a mash start at 68.2°C, finishing at 66.8° after 90 minutes
PB10032702.jpg

and after fly sparge I ended up with 30 litres at (temperature corrected) 1.046 which I halved.
PB10032703.jpg

I then did two separate boils with hops calculated to give 25-28 IBU.
First boil was with First Gold, 20g (90) plus 10g (15).
PB10032704.jpg

Second boil used 30g Bobek (90) plus 15g (15).
PB10032705.jpg

I ended up with 2 x 12.5 litres at 1.054
PB10032708.jpg

I've never used these fermenters for beer before but they were lying around doing nothing, and have the added advantage that they fit in the sink for cooling before S-04 was pitched.
PB10032706.jpg

Will be interested to see what you think of the different combinations Moley. Looks like you had a good day :thumb:

I was thinking about splitting my next stout brew, but using s04 and s05

Sean_Mc said:
Will be interested to see what you think of the different combinations Moley.
This is what I thought as I'm not sure what characteristics individual hops give to a beer. Next brew in a few weeks time will be exactly the same mash and then split between EKG and possibly Aurora.

Incidentally, Mrs. Mole didn't complain too much about the smell of the First Gold but moaned like hell about the Bobek.

Hi Moley, if you could have put the stock pot in cold water instead of the fermentor you could have form cold break.

Then taken the beer off it.

Just a thought :D

Looks good :thumb: , I've been thinking of doing some brews to get a better knowledge of different hops.