Bulk primed my batch - have i ruined it?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ar_fudge

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to home brewing and I am currently brewing a 40 pint lager kit.

All seems to be going ok, fermentation went as described and afterwards I transferred by batch into a pressurised plastic keg along with the priming syrup as suggested expecting to leave the keg until it the lager was ready to drink.

At this point I was doing some further reading online and found out that brewing lager in a keg will never produce a fizzy lager as the keg cannot withstand enough pressure to carbonate the beer, and that you're better off bottling your brew if you want it fizzy. I do not want to produce 40 pints of flat lager, so I have taken delivery of some PET bottles to transfer my brew into.

My issue is that I added my priming sugar to my keg along with my brew 48 hours ago. If I bottle this now will the batch still be ok? or has too much time lapsed in between adding the priming sugar and bottling to achieve a fizzy lager at the end?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Pressure barrels produce a carbonation more like a draught pint of bitter, rather than bubbly fizz, so yes, not ideal for lager.

You can bottle, the tricky bit is that you won't know how much of the sugar has already been converted to co2. I've done it before, when a barrel leaked, and I reprimed the bottles. The resulting brew was fizzier than I wanted it, but ok.

I'd open the barrel just a crack to let out any gas slowly, and leave overnight. That'll get most of the gas out without exposing to the air. You don't want any gas still in the beer when you bottle as it will just froth up as you bottle it, which is a real pain, and messy.