C*cked it up again???

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

disco_monkey79

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm very new to winemaking, and my very first attempt is ginger wine. The ingredients (ginger, orange, sugar and yeast) started inthe bucket, and were transferred to a DJ. All was going great, and the airlock was bubbling every 2 seconds, to start with.

A lot of gunk settled at the bottom, so I racked in to a fresh DJ. Should I have done so this early, or should I have left it until the wine cleared? It was in the first DJ for 2 weeks, and I was concerned that the gunk may contaminate the wine.

My second, and far worse, crime, was when I topped up. I used a water/sugar syrup, but in my haste, I didn;t let it cool down, and I suspect the heat has murdered my poor yeast cells. The neighbours probably heard me swearing when I realised my mistake (seconds later).

24 hours later, there was zero sign of activity, so I added a 1/4 teaspoon more yeast, and still no sign of activity. Is this batch completely worthless, or is there anything else I can do to try to put it right?

Many thanks!

The hot sugar syrup may have killed off a few million yeasties but the majority will be fine.

It can often take a little while after racking for the yeasties to get over the trauma. Apart from that, have you checked the airlock and bung are making a good seal?

Most importantly, what's the SG ?

Many thanks for the reply.

With all the drama, I forgot to write down the hydrometer reading when all this happened, so I'll measure it again tonight, and again in a few days to see if there's any activity.

The brew has always been very sweet, as it was an unproven recipe I took from the interweb, and I started it before I had bought a hydrometer (when I first took a reading, a week or so after adding yeast, it was off the scale of my Wilkinsons jobbie).