disheartened

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yeastinfection

Landlord.
Reaction score
so ive been breweing for little over 2 years,
it appears that i have all the gear and no idea.
ive thrown away more than i have drank,
ive made numerous beers and one was ok, irish red, the others are disgusting,
one i think burned on the element as it tastes, well burned, earthy and muddy.
the others i cant quite suss , im not very good at describing flavors,
having said that they all taste very alike,
ive even gone back to basics . with 3 smash brews and they are pants as well,
i followed all the instructions, mash at 65 .. even mash out at 75 to see if it made a difference, it didn't.
i use a brew fridge as well so temp control is good ,
i used a new fv on my last brews in case i had an infection, still no joy,
i have a kit waiting to brew but im reluctant to waste the grains until i can work out what im doing wrong,
i clean everything with wvp and starsan , and i think im quite carefull when batch priming etc,
so before i tip my 80 odd bottles of drain cleaner away,,
any ideas what im doing wrong?
im using an ace micro brewer and all grian.
:bow::bow::bow::bow::bow:

How are your taste buds? (A bit of a stab in the dark)

I have been trying different beers from bargain booze and have tried many and i have a feeling my taste buds are not what they used to be as the difference between them is very small yet Mrs Tea says they taste a lot different, i think the proof of this is my favourite at the moment is Black Wych a 5% Porter beer by Wychwood which once over (as a lager drinker) you couldn't have paid me enough to drink