Experimenting With Kits

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the-erl

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm pretty new to home brewing (started my first kit Nov 2011) but love it! I've just finished my 3rd kit; first was Muntons Connoisseur IPA, which is a very nice drop although I feel could do with being a bit more hoppy and maybe a bit stronger. Second was a Mangrove Jacks British series Irish stout, again a lovely drop but a bit thin. And Ive just finished a ginger beer which is now sitting in it's bottles waiting for me to try! :P

My question is that I'd like to get a few more kits under my belt but I'd also like to start experimenting with the kits; increasing the strength, taste aroma and in regards to the stout, making it thicker! Does anyone have any advice? :wha:

Does adding LME increase the strength? Will it affect the taste? Will DME do the same thing?

Can I add more than just a kilo off brew enhancer? Can I add brew enhancer and LME?

Whats the best way to dry hop?

Any advice would be much appreciated! :cheers:

Cheers,

The Erl :drink:

hi malt extracts have all the sugar you need Dried is liquid extract that is more concentrated than liquid and is basically all the good stuff from grains , brew enhancer is 50% brewing sugar (just fine sugar) and 50% dried malt extract , in kits you get liquid extract and you could just add gramme for gramme DME to replace the sugar , adding sugar thins out your brew while adding DME doesn't but may add a malty taste (which i like) dry hopping can be best after you have fermented your brew in 1st FV vessel tranfer brew to 2nd FV and add hops in a sterilized muslin bag and leave brew for another week

The easiest way to make a kit stronger and less 'thin' is not to dilute the ingredients so much.
Brew to <23l and you will achieve this. The downside is you obviously have less beer :shock: