First all Grain bitter

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

reaperbrew

Reaction score
Hello to you all

Im a new member and Live in Spain and its just got cool enough to start brewing at a resonable temp for fermentation.

I need some advise though as this is my first all grain brew and i hope you can teach me a few things here.

Im going to try an English bitter i have the following ingredients.(this is only ingredients they had at my local brew shop so had to compromise and use what i could get)

6.6lb of maris otter
Simpsons Crystal medium 500g
Simpsons Chocolat 500g
Fuggles 50g
Yeast is Lallemand London 11g

I want to make 12 litres so i guess i need 18 litres of water, could you all advise me how much of each ingredient to be added and at what time during mash or boil would you recomend it to go in any advise or tips would be very helpfull as its my first time having a go at all grain. Also if i have missed out anything thats needed plese HELP.

Regards to you all and hope to learn alot from this forum.

Carl

While waiting for the answers that will come have a look at some recipes that are online and scale it down to suit your batch size, it will be good to mess around while waiting then you can check where you roughly are.
Good luck and welcome to the forum

What is your system ?
Easiest way to work out recipe for yourself is to try out Brewfather or similar for free, then you can scale batch sizes to suit and work out quantities etc.
I'd do a simple SMASH if it's your first brew - good luck !

Most recipes you'll find are for 23L so you'll basically just be halving all the ingredients. Easy enough.

Hi

How are you planing to brew? Ie what is your system?

I can recommend the book "Kitchen Brewing" which details making small batches using standard kitchen equipment to produce 8 pint batches.