Infection help

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PokeHer

Reaction score
Hi,

Firstly, sorry if I've missed any vital info and sorry if this is in the wrong place, my first post here but I have read some fantastic articles so far.

I'm fairly new to brewing, I've brewed 5 successful batches of lager and real ale kits and they have tasted great! Unfortunately, my last 2 have been infected (at least I think they are infected).

My first 'infected' batch, I was perhaps a little sloppy with the steralising, I'm sure we all start out super clean then slowly slack each time until we get infected then increase it again (so we know just how clean we need to be)? So batch number 6 I've written off as being my fault, I should be more careful and steralise my equipment better.

Now, batch number 7, I was incredibly sterile, everything was sooooo clean it was rediculous (I spent about 3 hours cleaning my equipment). I was just about to bottle my beer from my lager kit when I noticed some tiny grey pieces of scum floating in my beer, I took a deep smell and whilst it doesn't smell off, it didn't smell like beer. I'll post up some pictures when I get home tonight of my so-called infection and perhaps someone could verify it for me?

My question is, why would batch No.7 be infected when I have been soooo careful!? Here are some factors that I think could potentially contribute:

I steralised everything, very well, but I did use a sponge to clean my equipment (the same sponge each time which appears to be in good condition).
The last two batches, I have vigourously stirred the wort before adding the yeast in order to introduce as much oxygen as possible.
Batch no.6, I laid the lid on top of my fermenting bin but didn't seal it.
Batch no.7, I tightly sealed the lid.