Melanoidin and acid malt in NEIPA

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pit Creature

Reaction score
I’m pretty new to this but i’ve made a couple of basic BIAB beers so i’m wanting to experiment with different specialty malts.

I’ve had a look at different people’s NEIPA recipes on brewers friend and lots of them have Canadian honey malt in them which I believe is unavailable in the U.K. So I’ve got some Melanoidin malt which I haven’t used before because some people have described it as similar. Looking at the description of it i’m not sure it will suit the style?

I’ve also got some acid malt although I haven’t tried to read the PH of the wort before so I’m not really sure what it will contribute?

Was thinking of adding 2% Melanoidin and 1% acid to 77% Maris otter 10% flaked wheat and 10% flaked oats.

Does that sound like it would be alright? As I say I’m not sure what they will add.

Melanoidin is similar but different. I've used both. It's definitely worth adding some acid as there isn't much in the grain bill to drop the pH.
I'm not sure how much though as it depends on your water profile.
I use ro water and add about 5ml of lactic acid for what it's worth. Have also used lemon juice.

The melanoidin works well in the more orange juicy examples of the style that use yeast like Conan or juice and have active ferment dry hopping, but if you were wanting a pillowy white sharply defined hoppy beer you could do without it and use London fog or similar and do more of a standard big dry hop.
Or do whatever really. I don't think the style is very well defined except it's got a tonne of dry hops and is generally hazy and with yeast charachter

Melanoidin is similar but different. I've used both. It's definitely worth adding some acid as there isn't much in the grain bill to drop the pH.
I'm not sure how much though as it depends on your water profile.