New member: James Read

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

James Read.

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm completely new to this. I haven't even bought my first brewing kit yet. I've ordered a grape press and some bottles from Amazon. I'm planning on brewing up some kosher wine. I understand that this can be done by just using the grapes juice and the grape skins. The grape skins have an enzyme which will ferment the grape juice so no need to add any (non kosher) yeast to get the process started. The main problem I have already run into is I have no idea where I can source the grapes from. I tried doing some google searches and only managed to find companies that are selling grape vines at quite high prices. I just want the grapes and want to get a decent price. Does anybody have any suggestions for a complete newcomer on how to source grapes?

Why is the totally random collection of yeast and other microorganisms found on grape skins kosher, while a strain cultured from a single cell found on a grape skin not kosher?
You're either going to have get to know a friendly grower or you're going to have to grown your own. You can buy grapes in a supermarket or greengrocer when in season, but they'll be relatively expensive and possible treated to make them last a bit longer.
Remember, too, that natural winemaking is very seasonable- ie when the grapes are ripe. A bit like cider really!
What neck of the woods to you live in? Is it suitable for grapes?
Welcome to the forum.

Edit:
Rereading your post, skins don't contain an enzyme that will ferment the juice. Enzymes are not responsibe for fermentation. Only yeast can do that. The yeasts associated with grapes are wild yeasts which are present in the air and attach themselves to the skins.
Since you can buy Kosher wine in the supermarket, there must at least be some (if not all) yeasts that are considered kosher.