Best White Wine Kits (30 bts)?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

InSadly

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I think I've been making wine from kits (and hedgerow) for about 40 years and from imported grapes for about 12. But it's difficult to scan the market for kits: things are expensive and (imho) take at least 9-months to get to best quality. Can you help on pointing me in the direction of your recent discoveries?

I have got to the place where the only white kit I buy is Winexpert NZ Sauvignon Blanc, but it's not perfect - it's too sweet - (sorry, off-dry) - is there artificial sweetener in it for the US market? Would it ferment to dry if I used Lalvin QA23 instead of the K1V-1116 that I think comes in the kit? I don't understand why it doesn't ferment out to dry. We like the flavours & fruit, but not the sweet. Which brings me to the main part of the question.

What white kits are there that really compete with a £10 shop-bought bottle, and as you can guess from the above, I'm looking for fruitful, dry?

I've had several attempts to experiment with other brands and tiers within brands, but they have all taken me back to 1970s 'homebrew', e.g:
* Vine Co California SauvBl - sweet rubbish, I couldn't tell if it had ever seen a grape - I do make vinegar out of failures and the whole lot went to vinegar
* Winexpert Classic California Viognier - sweet rubbish, some grape, but too sweet - vinegar again