New to homebrewing

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Optics

Reaction score
Mornin',

I'm new to homebrewing and the forum, on my second ever brew (Beavertown Gamma Ray recipe) and I'm now looking forward to trying out all other kinds of recipes and beer types, from APAs & IPAs (my personal go to at the moment) to Stouts (as it gets colder) to some crisp lagers in the summer. I plan to start trying out some of my own recipes once I've produced a few clones and SMaSH brews (to further my hops knowledge). I live in Sheffield so a big hello to any homebrewers in the area! :hat:One of the main draws for me to this hobby is the fact that I am now at home much more having a 2 year old so I have to drink most of my beer at home these days. Also, I love the idea that I can tailor, control and be creative with what I brew / drink ;):beer1:

My first brew was a kit from Wilko's called the triple hopped IPA kit and it got me hooked. Was made using a preboiled syrup which I watered down with some water and brewing sugar, cooled than added the packaged yeast to. Tasted ok though I have had some issues with it tasting a bit "cidery" which I put down to the fact it was fermenting in my attic in 27 degree heat at one point, Moved that into a secondary fermenter for a few days before moving it into a Wilko pressure barrel, which I've since had problems with in that it isn't particularly carbonated, even though I added more then enough brewing sugar.

I became slightly obsessive about it and ended up getting some books on the subject to extend my knowledge. I started with the CAMRA brew your own real ale but have now moved on to the book "Yeast" as well as "Radical Brewing". Along with that I've been watching various videos to see how other people brew, one of my favourites so far was the Beardy man channel on Youtube which perked my interest in the Grainfather...