Newbie advice needed :)

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jamesdt

Reaction score
hi im completely new to this recently got a pressure barrel of ebay for next to nothing just need a fermenter and a few odds and ends to get started, but what i would like to know is which starter kit i should get are the brew buddy ones ok or should i get something better for my first brew im probably going to try a lager or cider first and dont want to put off by a crappy one? also are the cider and lager kits fizzy like normal tinned and bottled stuff?

Cheers :drink:

Its all down to your own personnal taste.
If you dont feel that confident, get a cpl of cheapies to get your teeth into and practice you technique.
However there are some excellent how to guides here on the forum if you want to go that bit better.
I have found the coopers kits quite gd and relativly dimple to start on.

Good luck :cheers:

Welcome to the forum :cheers:

I'm afraid I don't know much about the starter kits, hopefully someone who has brought one recently will see this.

I seem to recall reading on here in the last week or two that Tesco were selling starter kits for around £7. I'll have a look for the thread.

I can't find the post for the time being but have a search on the forum, there is some info on starter kits.

Tesco I think are running out the stock of their Youngs BrewBuddy starter kits in selected stores; I picked up the lager one for £7.96 on Saturday, that includes your fermenting bin with lid, hydrometer, syphon, small pot of sanitiser/cleaner, and your first lager kit. The only thing you don't get is somewhere to put it when it's done it's first ferment... but you've got your pressure barrel for that :)

Like I say, it's not all stores tho... you'll need to check your local one to see if they have them. And you'll probably have to be quick at that price as well!