Potentially embarrassing bottle bomb query

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monkhouse

Regular.
Reaction score
Carnforth, sleepy old town in the northwest
Ok here goes. I’m no newbie but I’ve potentially just made a rookie error.
Recipe: Belgian quad
9.97kg fermentables
24l batch size
OG 1.097
Potential fg of 1.022 according to Brewfather

I used 4 packs of T-58 dry yeast
Fermentation temp was 21c
Fermented for 2 weeks and bottled this today.
Here’s the kicker- I was expecting an abv of circa 10%abv
I stupidly did NOT check fg UNTIL I bottled this today (I usually drop the hydrometer into fv a few days prior to bottling.
My fg was only down to 1.028 giving me an abv of around 8.8%
Because I was expecting 10% I used f-2 bottling yeast to aid carbonation.
Used one 3.5g carbonation drop per 500ml bottle
Have I inadvertently created bottle bombs??
Is T-58 generally medium attenuating??

Please go easy on me 😣😣

Last edited:
The yeast is supposed to attenuate @ 70% I believe and it looks to me as it has already done about that so it may have got there and thats why it is at 1.028.
If you are unsure put them in crates and place a towel or something similar over the top then try one in a week and see if it is overcarbing in which case you can release the pressure and re-cap

Your primary may have been limited by the alcohol tolerance of t58, and you have then put another yeast with higher tolerance. So I think it could be a problem- what sort of bottles? Can you leave them with a tiny opening?

Have you made an all grain quad with no sugars?

I can’t do that with crown caps. I’ve used mcewans champion bottles which are strong to be fair.
I used 1.1kg of dark Candi aswel as around 8.8kg grain