Should I try overnight mash?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monkhouse

Regular.
Reaction score
Carnforth, sleepy old town in the northwest
I’ve never done it before but I really want to brew tomorrow but don’t have the time to devote most of the day to brewing. I thought I could put the mash on last thing tonight and then just sparge and boil in the morning.
I’ve got an sS brewtech 10gallon InfuSsion mash tun so I don’t know what sort of heat loss I would be expecting.
The beer will be a sort of Duvel clone. Could anyone tell me the pros and cons of overnight mashing and tell me of anything I should be made aware of if I’m using this method?
Cheers guys

Attachments

• IMG_8793.png
    IMG_8793.png
    82.7 KB · Views: 4
Mash cold overnight at 20c.
Start a temp uplift about early in the morning. Aim the end of mash to arrive at the same time as your first coffee 😁

Warning. You may never go back to brewdays.
I dropped sparge & chill and my beer has only improved.

For 2000w and 29liters I allow 1min for 1°c increase in the temp. That isn't absolute, but it is vf close.

I use the 5 braumeister mash steps as a timer.

Last edited:
Boil @ say 08.00
= Mash @65 for 60mins starts @ 07.00
Temp uplift from 20c to 65c =45m
So start temp uplift starts @ 06.15

Shout up if you need my spreadsheet.

I used to do them on a regular basis unlike MashBag I could not set my AIO to come on a timer so I used to heat up and mash before bed - literally just turn on mash in and leave,
I then had 2 options I would wrap really well to keep the heat in and leave while the morning or I have been known to leave it on the mash temp setting all night.
" things to watch for your Eff will climb a bit so account for this in the grain bill and if you wrap do not leave the mash too long as if the temp drops to 50c or below you risk lacobacillus.