stuck airlock/bung

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cider Minx

Regular.
Reaction score
I think my bung is stuck it is really deep in demi john and it won't move :(

any ideas how to get it out :(

heres a pic
DSCN7186.jpg

also what is the best temp to keep your cider so it ferments ok

as you can tell I am no cider expert lol I was just sick of seeing all the apples just go to waste on the ground :)

also how do I test the cider with the hydrometer ? should I take a sample out in that test tube thing you get with it? should I do that when I go to bottle it or now?

ok so when it settles fully (I moved it downstairs so it went cloudy) I do this in this order

test cider in the test tube see what hydrometer reads

if it reads around 1000 sterilise bottles and add a teaspoon of sugar in every bottle

pour the cider in bottle through a sterilised tube

leave cider to go fizzy for how long?

Thats right it could take a couple of weeks to months to turn good when its bottled keep warm for a week then move to a cool room or shed to condition. We make turbo cider it usually takes a month from fermenting to drinking :D

just leave it and have a sneaky taste after a couple of weeks. Turbo cider the name comes from the turbo yeast you can use that type of yeast is usually used in liqeur making and are not good for cider, Just use proper cider yeast and leave out the tannin so it matures quicker :D

oooooooooooo but even by tasting it how will I know? I just used wine yeast I think I do have cider yeast but I was told the wine one is better :/

I am going to make nettle beer as soon as they come up lol