Stuck Imperial Stout

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reuben

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm relatively new to all grain brewing, ~8 brews in.

I currently have my first big dark beer fermenting and I'm trying to decide if my fermentation is stuck or if it has just finished.

Recipe: "Imperial" Stout
Batch size in fermentor: 15L
Mash Temp: 68C

Grains:
Maris Otter: 6Kg
Crystal Malt: 0.3Kg
Roasted Barly: 0.3Kg
Chocolate Malt: 0.3Kg
Honey Malt: 0.3Kg
Flaked Wheat: 0.3Kg
Lactose: 0.2Kg @ 20 min

Hops:
30g Magnum @ 60 min
20g Magnum @ 20 min

Yeast:
NBS Classic English Ale Yeast 12g
2L starter with 200g DME for 72 hours

Additions:
Yeast Nutrient
Whirlfloc

Original gravity read at 1.097. It has been fermenting for a week and a half at 20C, the first few days showed a lot of activity but I took a gravity reading 5 days ago and 2 days ago both at 1.042. I have raised the temperature to 24C and given the fermentor a swirl but no movement.

I used the Brewers Friend online calculator which predicted an OG of around 1.100 and an FG of 1.025.

What could be the reason be that the fermentation has stopped? Too high a level of unfermentable sugars (grain bill/mash temp) / yeast health/something else?

Currently, it’s not tasting too bad, a bit sweet but it’s being balanced out by the bitterness from the grains to an extent. My plan for this beer was to be an imperial cherry stout, I was going to add some “Mangrove Jack's Natural Flavour Boost – Cherry” along with cocoa nibs to the secondary before bottling. I’m now thinking of adding some sour cherry concentrate to take off some of the sweet edge. Any advice?

Thanks in advance