Thinking about an upgrade

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jambop

Reaction score
So I have been using my GF S40 for a couple of years now and to be fair making some very nice beers with it. A recent thread on here about the S40 has got me thinking about moving on to another system but I am uncertain if this is really a good idea. I think I have the S40 sussed and make decent beer but I have never made a full 40L brew with it and to be honest really wonder if the heating element is up to the job of the larger volume, I generally make 25- 27L vol which suits my FV's and they system heating capabilities .
So I am thinking that a possible upgrade could be the GF G40 this would broadly give me the same brewing capacities as my present system but maybe better temperature control and programability for mashing and have a good quality product. The other and possibly more sensible option is to go for a bigger volume system which would allow me to do two full 32L FV at one time so say a system that can make up to 58L of wort. I am ruling out the GF G70 on price alone but there are other systems that are well inside the cost of the G40 even. Anybody have thoughts on this? To be fair I am not really looking to increase the volume of beer I make just a larger volume at the one time so I can fill both FV and brew less often.
The other upgrade that could be done using the money a system upgrade would use would be a make over of my brewhouse. I have an area that is about 5m x 2.5 which is unfloored I could create a floor in there and expand my brewhouse storage and working areas. Be interested in opinions of orthers as to best use of money.

Why do you want an upgrade?