What can I create using Goldings and Northern brewer?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Treacle

Reaction score
Hi everyone! Newbie here. I've only made 4 kits so far - the last two being the Woodfordes Wherry which I loved -(incidently I just bought another one a few days ago after reading on the forum that it was on offer at Wilko!)

But a friend of mine gave me some hops -(about 70g of Goldings and 80g of northern brewer) so I thought I'd have a go at using them up as the previous kits had it all included in the extract.

I was hoping to make something lighter in colour and more like an IPA style- maybe 5.5-6%. But I don't know if that would be possible with the two varieties that I've got.

I've also got a litre of coopers light liquid malt extract and a bag of medium spray malt. Plus sugar and two different yeasts to choose from- wilko's Gervin and Windsor Danstar.

Basically (sorry this is getting long winded!) I dont really want to go out and spend anything else so my question is - with the ingredients that I"ve got could I make something IPAish?! And if so what quantity of hops would you recommend I boil up or would I also use some of it to dry hop? Which yeast do you think would be best?

I know its still far from all grain brewing but at least I'll be getting a bit more involved in the process!

Any advice or recommendations would be really appreciated!

Cheers! :cheers:

You could do an extract the the hops with your liquid malt (boil it) and add the spray malt in at the end..

I am not a fan though of topping up with say 500 grams of sugar, before we talk numbers what exactly do you have 500 grams DME?

But with that you could do an English pale ale or IPA probably but I would be looking at around the 10-15 liter mark and ditch the sugar

Yeah how much spraymalt and are you sure it's 1kg Coopers liquid, it comes in 1.7kg tins.