Yeast recycling

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Empty bottle

Reaction score
Hi folks i am quite new to brewing my own beer and i recently watched some videos on you tube showing folk going through quite a few processes and gathering up the yeast that they had previously used in past brews. Is there any advantage to doing this apart from the cost ? Yeast is pretty cheap to buy anyway and it looked like an awful lot of work and time involved just to save a little bit of cash.

Some people do it all the time, others never bother with it. I tend to the latter camp. I've made one or two attempts, but the results haven't encouraged me to persist. However, clearly many experienced brewers get very good resulta doing it.

What I would say is, get some experience under your belt with 'fresh' yeast at first, then decide if you want to go down that path.

My wife uses fresh trub to bake bread. Straight out the FV after terminal FG into a big clean jug add sugar and leave in a warm place covered with cling film. Once bubbling This goes in the bread flour. It is usually brilliant! (CML Ale yeast.)

I've reused yeast many times (Craig was the first guy I saw do it when he first started on YouTube) and not once had a negative issue.
● I've pitched a fresh batch straight on top of a yeast cake.
● Collected part of the yeast cake and stored in several 500ml pet bottles in the fridge, sometimes for months until I'm ready for a batch, bring it to room temperature and throw one in.

The latter has sometimes taken a day or so to start up, but always has, and after reading so much about the reuse of yeast I've surmised that washing it is not necessary, at least not at my level of homebrewing.