Young Newbie from the midlands!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

biggles22

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've enjoyed reading this forum for the past few weeks, it has been very insightful! I'll tell you a bit about me first. I'm an 18 year old student, soon to be off to university. For a few years i've dreamt of making my own cider as one of my neighbours has a large apple orchard and every autumn i'm on the receiving end of hundreds of apples, sure are tasty but i can't eat them quick enough before they're gone off and ready for the compost heap. My nan used to be a keen homebrewer herself, making everything from cider to sloe gin. Around 3 weeks ago i was looking at university funds, costs etc, and dreading how i would pay for it all, when my nan suggested making my own alcohol, it caught my interest and she donated some of her old brewing equipment to help me out. I began with a lot of research online, recipes, techniques, equipment, enzymes, yeasts etc. I've never done things by half, if i was going to make my own drinks then they had to be nice, and not make me blind, or atleast until the nights over :party:

After the research i went out and brought a nice big 6 gallon FV, some airlocks, youngs cider yeast, sterilising powder, pectolase etc etc, practically everything i needed, and began an easy first batch of Turbo Cider. A few days into fermentation i started reading more and more into different recipes and got a bit impatient, so began a small 2 gallon batch of Cheeky Vimto. And then just yesterday i brought 2 5 litre water bottles and began a gallon Fiery Ginger Beer and a gallon of Alcoholic Lemonade. I might aswell test all different brews to see whats easy, and which i like the most so i'm ready for when i get to uni!