All Rounder Foam

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi,

I transferred a beer (peach IPA) from my all rounder to my keg and had a bit of an issue. I cold crashed to 4C for 2 days, had about 8 psi in the all rounder and about 2 in the keg. When I hooked up the transfer leads (closed cycle - AR beer out to keg beer out & gas to gas) it was like all the CO2 in solution came out. All the trub got stirred up and made a gunky foam at the top which lifted the float and the filter out of the beer. I couldn't transfer the beer until I realised that a few taps on the side let the float work it's way through the foam.
What caused this? Too big a pressure difference between the two vessels? First time this has happened and it puzzled me.
Cheers.
J

I am not an expert but I normally balance both. I attach a spudding valve to the keg and slowly release some pressure. This will allow the beer to flow at a controlled rate

Are you using your CO2 bottle to push it through and not a closed-loop arrangement? Not as below?
closed-loop-transfer.jpeg

Yes My set up is C02 to push the beer from the all-rounder into the liquid out post of the keg. Sputting valve attached to the gas in post of the keg to control the flow

Before fermentation starts, fill your keg up with starsan.
Connect the 'gas' post of your all rounder to the gas post of the keg.
Connect the liquid post of the keg to a piece of beer pipe poking into a receptacle that will hold the 19/20l of starsan (another keg maybe with the PRV pulled) - this should be open to atmosphere.
Fermentation will then create the CO2 that will push the starsan out of the keg and fill it with CO2.
A few day's in, after the keg has emptied, swap the disconnect on the keg to the liquid post (leave it on the gas post of the FV!!) and stick your spunding valve onto the gas post of the keg.