Another Kegerator build

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DocAnna

Queen's Knot Brewing
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Not terribly original but I'm going to be starting my kegerator build this weekend and have a few questions that I've not found answers to in searches - well one really at the moment. I'm not an engineering expert and already realising my fridge isn't ideal as a kegerator - but I have it now and am going to make the best of it. The fridge has a freezer section on top as I was looking for dedicated hop storage space, this does mean the taps and handles need to be low enough not to project up to the level of the freezer compartment. This does make them a bit low which isn't great. I could just cut my losses and get another fridge but I'm going to go ahead and perhaps in the future work towards a keezer option. I chose to go the kegerator route since it will take up less space than a keezer, and being honest, the idea of the joinery involved with a keezer was a bit intimidating.

The question bit - What should the spacing be for taps on the outside of the fridge door ie gap between taps?

Sourcing parts has been more difficult than expected, what's with the worldwide shortage of 30cm drip trays? Oddly enough Amazon to the rescue which normally I wouldn't go near for brewing things.

Though posted elsewhere this is how my kegs are going to be fitting in. I have decided after all to cut the bottom projecting lip off the inner door, though how to do so neatly and finish it off is still a bit of a puzzle.
The red spot shows where I'm planning on bringing the gas line in to a 4 port manifold, green lines for gas, teal lines for beer. Keeping the manifold on the bottom of the fridge stops the problem of cramming in the lines in the top of the fridge and provides an easy pivot of bringing kegs in and out of the fridge.

IMG_0768.jpeg