BIAB IPA Citra / Rakau Recipe Idea / Feedback Please?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

merrydown

Reaction score
Hi,

TL;DR Does the recipe below seem viable for an IPA style beverage please? My figures and expectations may be off as I have cobbled together thoughts from a few different places and I am a novice.

---

I am a touch adventurous (foolhardy probably) and have been looking at BIAB IPA / AIPA recipes with a view to making my own first batch somewhere betwixt those flavours. A vaguely tropical hoppy IPA style result would be just great.

I found one that fitted the bill, but wanted to simplify it - partly to make it cheaper - and twist it a little to modify the flavour profile and make it mine. I have no BIAB / All grain experience yet, just extracts. I have a suitable Electric 55L boiler and the rest of the kit ready.

I'd appreciate feedback on the basic viability of the recipe. I am trying to make an IPA BIAB with West Coast to Tropical flavours and a 5 gallon target batch size.

----

RECIPE

RacketEar 1

Based On Simplified Zombie Dust Clone - ALL GRAIN skeezerteezer

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f12/3-floyds-zombie-dust-attempt-help-info-requested-245456/

Method: BIAB All Grain
Style: IPA
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 5 gallons / 22.7
Boil Size: 28.38 L
Initial Water: 31L
Efficiency: 7x% (brew house)

OG: 1.068
FG: 1.019
ABV 6.5%
IBU: 84.85

FERMENTABLES (fine ground)

4.5Kg Maris Otter 69%
1.5Kg American - Pale 2-Row 23%
0.5Kg German - Melanoidin 8%

6.5Kg Total

HOPS

35g Citra Pellet AA:11 First Wort <60 mins
1 * Whirlfloc Tablet 15 min
40g Rakau Pellet AA:11 Boil 15 mins
25g Citra Pellet Boil 10 mins
40g Rakau Pellet Boil 5 mins
30g Citra Pellet

50g Rakau Pellet Dry Hop 7 days
50g Citra Pellet Dry Hop 7 days

PRE MASH / STRIKE
Temp 70C-71C

MASH
6G/27.3L - 69C - 60 min

YEAST
1 * Fermentis / Safale - English Ale Yeast S-04