Caragold and caramalt

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bashley

Reaction score
Hi All

I'm going to try a Gamma Ray clone today and it calls for small amounts of Caragold and Caramalt.

My understanding is that Caramalt is just 20 ebc Crystal and caragold is Crystal 120.

Is this true?

As I'm a complete novice at homebrewing I'm a little bit unsure as to how important the non- base malts are.
Are we really predominantly talking colour here from these malts or does Crystal 20 and 400 impart different flavours?
I'm wondering because if it's mainly colour, why wouldn't I be able to just substitute say 200g Caragold and 200g carmalt with , say, 400g of Crystal 100.

Thanks for any help!

Hi,

To the first question, Caragold is a very light crystal malt, much lighter than Crystal 20. The 20 refers to Lovibond, on of the standards in colour measurement, 20 Lovibond translates to 50 EBC (European Brewing Convention) where as Caragold is 12 EBC.

Yes different Crystal malts give different flavours. https://byo.com/resource/grains/

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Strange this recipe states the following:

260 g crisp caramalt (38.5 ebc)
5kg Maris otter (6.5)
150g caragold (145.3 ebc)

I have 115g of cara malt (28 ebc) and lots of Crystal 135 and 100.

What would be the best thing to do? Also, does it really matter that much! :)

Strange this recipe states the following:

5kg Maris otter (6.5)

I have 115g of cara malt (28 ebc) and lots of Crystal 135 and 100.

What would be the best thing to do? Also, does it really matter that much! :)