First-Time try at Witbier didn’t go to plan.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TrubWolf

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi All - I’ve never used wheat malt before so thought I’d try a simple Belgian Witbier recipe as a start. I’m kind of aware that wheat-malt does not convert as easily as Maris Otter for example. Anyway I scaled the recipe so that I should have finished with 29L of wort in the kettle @1045 (checked in BrewersFriend).
Recipe used 50/50 MO/Wheat-malt 2.9kg each.
Starting mash pH of 5.1 and mashed at 65C for 60mins.
Anyway the long & short of it was that I ended up with 20L @ 1045 aunsure.... and the wort was surprisingly clear.

Alas too late I did a starch-test on the spent grain and there was a s**t-load in there although the mash-wort had looked ok earlier.

I’d really appreciate some input here - Is there anything that looks obviously wrong here? Maybe I’ve managed to make a witbier with little from the wheat....
:confused.:

I use a Recirculating mash (Braumeister) and added 27L for the mash then did a sparse with 3L - Up till now I have rarely sparged as the efficiency had been very good.

Not using a calculator,but some rules of thumb:

- 1 liter liquid absorption for a kg of grain
- total water added is 30L, and around 6 kg of grain, so you lose around 6L to the grain?
- Leaves around 24L of liquid

You then have to factor in losses from the boil, and anything you lose just in the equipment (trub at the bottom?) - but I'm not not familiar with the BM. But even ignoring those, I can't see how you'd get to 29L in the FV if you only added 30L water total, simply because of the grain absorbing the liquid.

Hi - Was 70min boil. I have a reasonable handle on my losses based on previous brews but I may be missing something:
Grain loss ~0.75l/kg grain
Boil-Off=6L (70mins boil)