Geordie Winter Warmer - Modified

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roadhouse1387

Reaction score
Im still quite new to the hobby and so far have completed about 8 or 9 kits, sticking more or less to the standard instructions. I have though been reading and learning as i go on and have tried various beginner things recommended by those of you out there who are far more experienced than me such as using different sugars, spray malts in various quantities etc, and with more success than failures up to now. so, im all for having a go, its all about learning after all.

so, I had got hold of this geordie winter warmer kit hoping it would be similar to a beer i remember from years ago called 'firecracker' although i cant remember which brewery it came from, i do remember it had fantastic spicy type aftertaste, a bit like mulled wine. I was fairly disapointed to read then about the fairly negative reviews this kit was receiving, so i set about trying to 'spice' it up as a learning exercise more than anything else. I was aiming for about 6.5 to 7% ABV with a spicy type taste.

So, this is what i have done..

I boiled 1kg of medium DME along with some schwartz 'mulled wine' , well , spiced tea bags would be the only way to describe them added three teaspoons of the contents about 10 mins into a short boil (total 25 mins), then another teaspoon about 3 mins before the end.

I then put this in the FV along with 500g of brown sugar dissolved in water and added the contents of the kit can.

Then added, 250g of Golden Syrup and 250g of black treacle, then filled the FV to 19 ltrs, so a little short.