Greetings from the Wyre Forest of Despair

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Berk

Reaction score
Well, it's not really that bad, although I do despair about my home town.

Hello there. I found this forum while doing some research about home brewing, so far the information has been helpful and concise, so I thought I'd sign up and say hello.

I first started brewing a few years ago when I was a student in Northampton, I had a little success with some kits. Well I say success, the results were drinkable after you choked down the first pint. Then we moved and the kit got packed away, and my father in law had his pressure barrel back, so the brewing got put on hold for two years. I've just got into brewing again after finally getting around to using the kit my sister in law bought me for my birthday in December. She got me a kit with an FV, syphon, stirrer, 40 clear plastic bottles, some steriliser and a hydrometer. I already have an FV and a hydrometer from my last foray into brewing, and last week I went out and purchased a pressure barrel, a couple of kits, a testing tube and turkey baster, and some brewing sugar. I also stole my father in laws pressure barrel back.

With these I've now got two Wilko's kits fermenting that I started yesterday. One is the Wilko Apple Cider kit, that is primarily something for my wife to drink as she doesn't like beer. The second is the Wilko Dark Velvet Stout, which I fancied the look of as something a bit different.

So that's a little about where I am with it all now. I'll doubtless be back with more questions as I go along.

Welcome to the forum - I've only been doing this for a month but this place teaches me something new every time I brew another effort. The things you don't find out from kits!