Homegrown hop drying

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cheyne_brewer

Regular.
Reaction score
My first year hops (only planted in June) have cropped really well. Looking for a convenient way to dry them for storage I hit on a cunning plan - a “ hack” In millennial parlance. I work in IT, the office has a redundant comms cabinet with fans blowing lukewarm air to the sky - perfect hop drying conditions. I gave the hops in new Aldi veg bags, again perfect for the task. 24 hours of sitting above one of the two fan arrays and the first bag is way lighter & crisper. Second bag now added. An eco friendly solution that cost me nowt - making my inner Yorkshireman happy 😀

I normally make a hammock out of a net curtain and hang the hops somewhere out of daylight but with a good air flow (shed or garage) and it does the job in a few days. I give the hops a stir around to ensure they dry at same pace.
Fuggles first on Saturday then EKG following weekend.
This is the EKG which is also ventured into next door’s garden!
IMG_1795.jpeg

Just done my first attempt in the air fryer.
Loaded up both sides of the air fryer & set to dehydrate for 3 hours at lowest temp (40c).
Outcome was each side produced about 40g of dried hops.
Aroma isn't up to commercial crops. They come from wild plants from a historical hop growing region.

But I'll try them in an experimental brew later.

I wonder if you are growing your own hops just because want everything done at home or because it works out notably cheaper? Thanks

But it does save quite a lot of money in the long run when you consider the price of hops. Just make sure you're growing the variety of hops you are going to want to use all the time.