Intro!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tinymcfc

Reaction score
Hey all

Long time lurker, first time poster. I've been homebrewing for a few years now, I probably had the same experience as most of you; found a few YouTube videos, tried it out with a kit, liked it, kept investing and reached all grain and was loving life!

For one reason or another I hadn't brewed for around 18-24 months, and then during this lockdown situation I decided it was time to clear the brew shed out, and see what we've got. So having done that, tested the temperature controlled fridges, and the kegs all work still I was ready to get a brew on.

I live in Manchester and so maybe the next statement is a bit weird, but, with the weather hopefully improving to a level of which I can sit in the garden in the sun I decided to brew my first ever lager. All the goodies were ordered and delivered. Brew day went well, maybe too well, as I kept thinking I must've missed a step etc. but no, everything really did go well.

What did I brew? Well I was going for a very easy going Lager, some clean, crisp, unobtrusive and something that my mates will enjoy having a few of; most of them are still skeptical over home-brew and assume you're either going to blow your house up or poison everyone.

Recipe:
Malt
8 lb Pilsner malt
2 lb Munich Light malt
12 oz Vienna Malt
10 oz Carapils (Dextrine malt)
Hops
50g Hallertau (60 mins)
Yeast
White Labs WLP838, Southern German Lager Yeast

Now, like an idiot, the recipe above is slightly amended to the one I wanted to brew, as I forgot to order Saaz hops. I wanted to keep the IBU's down anyway, but decided to just throw in the Hallertau hops at the start of the boil, with no other additions; brought IBUs to around 19.