Novice Advice

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joc9410

Reaction score
Hi all
Complete novice here. I've done a couple of kit beers which have turned out ok. Currently drinking the coopers irish stout. Tastes OK but poor head retention. Anyway the advice I'm looking for is I've a Coopers hefe wheat in the fermenter at the moment. Kit plus 1.5 kg of malt wheat in it. SG 1048. Been in 2 weeks and now dropped to 1008 so looks like not to far off and tastes not bad. I read somewhere that you can throw in 250g of frozen raspberrys for last couple of days for flavour. Anybody have done that?

I just put the same kit on Saturday brewed short to 20l With 1.5 LME also added 500g light malt Extract came out at 1060.. went off like a rocket I do like the idea of the fruit tho! But not the idea of raspberries in the bottle, I wonder could a flavour Baking extract be Used?

Kelper I am going to be bottling and had never thought of that.
Anto mine was very lively at the start. Lifted lid of fermenter. 1060 start tho 😳

One can kits have an advantage to kit brewers because they give you potential to change things round to your liking, but knowing how to do that comes with a little experience.
So if you are brewing a kit for the first time, or are new to brewing, its probably best to make it up close to as recommended so that you know how it will turn out. Then, for subsequent brews with the same kit or one like it, you can decide how you want to modify it.
But if you really must chuck stuff in because you read that someone thought it a good idea do as @kelper has suggested.

Are you going to bottle or PB? If bottling why not add some raspberries to SOME bottles and comparing in a few weeks or months?