Point me in the right direction please

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SIRUSKEY

Reaction score
Hi all

New to all this business and need some advice. Im going to start with a basic kit as I have no experience at all.

Can someone recommend me:
1/ A stout
2/ A larger
3/ An ale.
4/ An equipment set ( I have nothing)

Couple of questions:

A/ will the fermentation put gas into my larger or do I add that after?
B/ if I get a bottling kit how long can I keep it for?

Thanks in advance
Craig

your probably better off starting with something easy like an ale of some kind i could send you a recepie if your interested or there are loads on here. As for equipment if your going to start brewing with kits you would need a 5 gallon fermenting bucket,thermometer,hydrometer some syphon tube steriliser and some bottles. The kits are straight forward just follow instructions. You will pick up the hobby easily as there are lots of people on here with excellent advice :D

As Mark says for the basic equipment (bucket, hydrometer, syphon tube, etc.), or you may wish to buy a complete ‘starter’ set such as the Young's boxes.

Cooper's or EDME are good for the ‘budget’ kits (one can kits which require a kilo of sugar) or the Woodeforde's ‘premium’ kits are popular (two cans, nothing else required).

Please note:
Lager - a type of beer (from the German verb lagen, to leave or to store).
Larger - of greater magnitude. ;)

A secondary bottle or keg fermentation gives your beer its fizz.
Bottled beers can keep a very long time, some of mine are still excellent after 18 months.