Red Wine Kits

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nick Legge

Reaction score
I've been making wine kits for around 3 years now with generally good results.

I've found that the white wine kits at the cheaper end (£25-30) are usually very drinkable but that reds in that price range are not great - no real body and a tad acidic - so I buy the WinExpert kits for my reds (usually the Malbec or Diabolo Rojo) which always turn out very well and can be drunk straight away.

Ideally I'd like to be making a red that comes out like a decent French vin de table from a cheaper kit - does anyone have any pointers? I have tried most of the cheaper kits, but end up chilling the results and telling my wife it's rose - she loves them! I have just bought a kit from the Range based on what I've read here and will start it off in the next couple of weeks to see if that is my holy grail.

I have just bought a kit from the Range based on what I've read here and will start it off in the next couple of weeks to see if that is my holy grail.
We make this kit often due to it not being a full bodied wine we have always thought it half way between a Rose wine and a full bodied Red which suits our taste, you may be disappointed if you prefer the latter.

Its been a while since the Range have had their MYO kits in store i notice the prices have jumped by £3 - £5 still well worth it.

kkkkure.JPG

We make this kit often due to it not being a full bodied wine we have always thought it half way between a Rose wine and a full bodied Red which suits our taste, you may be disappointed if you prefer the latter.
I'm not after something that's really full bodied, more like a quaffable cotes de rhone. I'll give it a whirl and see what I get! If it's more faux rose at least the missus will be happy :)

Here are some MYO threads -

MYO RED Wine Features
  • Brews a light-bodied, fruity wine