Suggestion for 2nd brew

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

emmever

Reaction score
Hello all,

In the coming weeks (as soon as the temperature will drop as I live in Italy) I will start my second brew.
I would like to make an IPA from a kit (I am considering the Brewferm English IPA for a 12l batch).

I would like to try the dry hopping method. What is the right amount of hops to be added for a 12l IPA batch?
Does the hop need to be sanitized somehow bedore adding it to the fermenting vessel?

Second question: I read that using malt extract instead of sugar enhance the taste of beer. Is this true in your experience? How do I choose the proper malt extract for the different beer styles?

They are probably newbie questions, but I am a newbie :confused.:

Hmm. That's a 20l kit.
If you only want 12l from it you will need to mess around splitting the batch.
The thing with these kits is that the hops are added to the extract for you.
Adding less water will mean the flavour will be more bitter and you would need to adjust any sugar you add too.

So on to questions:
1) dry hopping with commercial vac packed hops should be ok, as the commercial process should have preserved the hops.

2) Sugar will ferment, but it adds nothing to the beer, so you can end up with a thin watery beer.
You can buy 'beer enhancer' which is a mix of brewing sugar and dried malt extract as a 1/2 way product.
Personally I used to use just the dried malt extract, as you can get it in different colours from extra pale to dark depending on the beer style you are making.
You can also get cans of malt extract - like the stuff in the homebrew kits, but without any hops added.

If you are doing small batches and have plenty of free time, there is a thread on how to make simple all grain using kitchen cooker that might be a worth looking at.