Suggestions for a Belgian Strong Dark

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Donjon

Reaction score
Hello there,

I'm new to brewing, I've done 7 mashes in the last month or so, variations on APA recipes and porter recipes. Next up I'm very keen to do a Belgian Strong dark and I'd like someone to point me in the direction of a decent road-tested recipe.

I'm not at the stage where building my own recipe is an option and choosing a random recipe online has loads of pitfalls, although this one seemed to be quite appealing.

For a 5 gallon batch
  • 8 pounds Belgian Pilsner malt
  • 4 pounds Belgian Pale malt
  • 2 pounds Maris Otter malt
  • 1 pound flaked oats
  • 1 ounce Magnum hops, 13.6% AA (first wort hop)
  • 1 pound Dark Candi Inc. D Belgian candi syrup (60 minutes)
  • 1 pound Dark Candi Inc. D2 Belgian candi syrup (60 minutes)
  • 1 pound turbinado sugar (60 minutes)
  • 1 tablet Whirlfloc (15 minutes)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Wyeast yeast nutrient blend (10 minutes)
  • Wyeast 3787 Trappist High Gravity yeast
I'd be scaling down to about 10 to 13 litres

Thoughts??

https://www.seriouseats.com/recipes...-strong-dark-ale-beer-homebrewing-recipe.html

Sounds good to me apart from the oats. I would leave them out as I wouldn't be looking for the body and viscosity that they would lend the finished beer. Haven't looked at the link, but what's the thinking behind the different types of sugar? Also is all the colour coming from the Candi Syrup?

I've got a BSDA recipe somewhere that I brewed last year and seemed to be well received. I'll dig it out if you are interested?

Absolutely brilliant. The more suggestions the better thanks folks.