Turbo cider?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wraeccan

Reaction score
Hi chaps / chappettes

I'm an absolute beginner and have been looking around here a bit. I've seen a lot of posts referring to 'turbo cider' but can't actually find any recipes for it.

Could any one direct me to some, and also let me know how it comes out?

Ta muchly...

Turbo cider is simply supermarket Apple juice 4.5L with yeast in a dj. Once you have done the simple one then you can start adding stuff to it ie fruits. As for how it tastes I personally don't know as I have my first ever 2 in the dj now but overall opinion is that it is ok, not fab but ok. Lots of people add things so experiment.

I've also never tried a TC but want to give give it a go. One thing I'm not sure on - do you heat the juice before adding the yeast? If you do, Is it like ale, around 21C ?

Cheers

The only time you need to heat the juice is when either it had preservatives in it or you wish to dissolve sugar into it. As long as the juice is at room temp when you put it in the dj you can simply pop in your yeast give the dj a wiggle to shake it up and fit the airlock and that's it all done.

If you buy supermarket value aj and the ingredients say from concentrate 100% then no preservatives are in it.

I always do 23 ltr batches now it makes more sense. No need to boil anything just add your cider yeast at 21c.

Excellent. I think a TC will be my next brew once I bottle my alcoholic sarsaparilla. Where's the best place to get the apple juice from? I notice you can get 8l for £5 at Asda, which would make it around £15 for a whole fermenter's worth.

Whatever supermarket you wish really. It doesnt make a big difference just check the ingredients otherwise you will have to boil.