Diastatic Amber malt

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alefric LeHendz

Reaction score
I picked up some diastatic amber malt today and am just wondering if anyone has an idea how this compares to regular amber. I'm looking to brew one of the durden park recipes that uses 30% amber and was wondering if it would be worth doing two batches with each kind and comparing

I'm far from an expert on historical brewing but as I understand it modern amber malt is kilned hotter/longer than it would have been historically, so diastatic amber would probably be a closer match as it's more gently roasted to preserve diastatic enzymes. Obviously this will affect the flavour too, probably being less toasty/biscuity than the standard amber malt.

I picked up some diastatic amber malt today and am just wondering if anyone has an idea how this compares to regular amber. I'm looking to brew one of the durden park recipes that uses 30% amber and was wondering if it would be worth doing two batches with each kind and comparing
As @strange-steve said, historic amber malt would have been kilned at lower temperatures to retain diastatic activity ... or to be more accurately at lower average temperature through the grain bed than modern-day amber malt. Temperature control was less controllable with the grain in beds than "modern" means ("modern" ... relatively speaking as rotating drums for kilning have been around since mid-19th century). The bit of colouring due to some grain being kilned darker accounted for the overall colour; speed the process up and you end up with diastatic brown malt.

So the question is: What process did they use for creating this "diastatic amber malt"?

Modern kilning uses very tightly controlled temperatures and moisture levels.