equipment

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

foster75

Reaction score
Hi all this is all very new to me. I'm looking to start brewing so I'm looking for an equipment shopping list for a beginner. Links would be good.
Cheers
Dave

Welcome to the forum!

Kit as follows: http://www.wilko.com/search?q=homebrewing&setpagenum=1&perpage=12

Wilko have a lot of good stuff, relatively cheap.

You'll need: A fermenting bin

Sanitising solution

A beer kit (personal recommendation is Woodforde's Wherry)

Some dried malt extract (also called brew enhancer)

Siphon tube

Bottles (go to your local and ask for a load of ale/cider bottles)

crown caps

Crown capper

Sugar for priming

Off the top of my head, that's about it for your first brew. You can find all of that on Wilko or instore.

:D

Might be an idea if your a complete beginner with no gear to go for one of the Coopers all-in-one kits. You sometimes get them on offer at Tesco Direct (online) for about ~£53.

There's a couple of good vids on them at Youtube (search for Coopers kit & craigtube).

Only thing extra I can think of that you would need to get started would be some sanitiser. I started with Milton (available in any supermarket).

Good luck... oh, and welcome :drink:

imho what you need is:
a hydrometer and trial jar
a big bucket or FV
an accurate thermometer

Most kitchens have measuring jugs, and scales and big spoons.

bottles can be recycled, pet pop bottles even the big 2l+ ones are great you just need to decant them out in one due to the inevitable sediment of an unfiltered live beer, tipping back n forth over pint glasses is a recipe for yeasty pints, if u use 2l bottles get a big jug ;).

you can add as much kit and equipment as you like but to start out and dip your toes in the water of home brewing neednt involve a huge investment.