Hello Forum!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Harry

Reaction score
Hello Forum!

Just before Covid I was given a corny keg and regulator with a tap for a present; so I started brewing beer.

There's a home-brew shop near me, I bought a sugar kit and made 30ish bottles of beer that actually was drinkable. Then I moved on to the boil in the bag kits off the internet and slowly I needed more kit.

At this point, I decided to start looking at 'proper' brewing, all grain and start buying kit that would get me there. The local shop has had loads of great advice and I've slowly built up my method and equipment along with a basic recipe that I've made and refined.

I'm having a lot of fun and love walking in to the house and drawing off a small glass of beer I've made from my own keg.

I have an electric urn that I use for the mash from Vevor, I am using Marris Otter pale base malts and East Kent Goldings hops. I've started adding some Caramalt in various quantities. I have a small pump that I use to circulate the mash after an hour, I pump it up and sparge the grains with a double colander arrangement that lets the water rain over the bed. It takes about 45mins to clear and then I pump it in to my boil kettle which is on the gas hob.
Bring that up to boil and after 15mins I'm putting in 33g of hops, boiling an hour, adding 33g of hops, boiling for 15mins then adding the last 33g of hops at heat off. I have a counterflow SS coil and it takes about 15mins to cool it down enough to be pumped in to the fermenter. I have run pretty much Safale S04 only. Takes about a week to finish but sometimes it's done in 4 days. I siphon in to my keg and pop it with CO2 at 40psi for as long as I can stand not trying it. I try to vend it around 10-12psi. I have some work to do on my lines and vending.