Is Co2 injection neccessary?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave49

Reaction score
I've got a pressure barrel, but it's only got the standard cap, not the one that allows Co2 injection. My question is, What exactly does the Co2 do, apart from force the beer out? Does it add fizz to the beer at all, or is that taken care of in the secondary ferment? (I don't like fizzy beer at all anyway) Sorry for the newbie questions, but......I'm new at this!....:oops:

I think the co2 will keep the beer from going stale and not let air be pulled in through the tap which would happen without it. Air will spoil the beer quick

If you've got a really good seal on you pressure barrel and the secondary fermentation from the priming sugar does its thing then before now I've managed to pour all but the last 3-5 pints from a King Keg without need to add any gas.

However if any of these factors hasn't panned out as expected you can see yourself needing to add gas after the first ten pints or so.

Whatever happens if you want your beer to keep any longer then either letting air glug in through the tap or undoing the lid to allow the beer to flow out is bad as the beer will start to go off once exposed. If you've only got a few pints left not a problem, just drink it over the next day or so. If you've got thirty pints then you've either got a lot of beer to drink in a short space of time or get some mates round :D

I'd get a cap for you barrel with a pin valve, a screw on gas bulb holder, and a box of CO2 bulbs. Shouldn't cost a lot and can be used for future brews.

Didn't really answer the question there. The CO2, as an inert gas, stops the beer going off which it would do if it were just exposed to normal air. Nothing wrong with that as that is how they serve real ale in pubs (no CO2) but once tapped the barrel has to be consumed fairly quickly (max 1 week?).