Mash pH how quick to react

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beerwegoagain

Seeking wisdom. Found beer.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm a newbie and about to embark on my 1st all grain, Thornbridge Oatmeal Stout AG kit. I've been reading about mash pH and wort pH during sparge and I've got to the point where I'm almost hiding behind the sofa and poking it with a stick as it seems a massive opportunity to create 23l of black poison!
Maybe overly dramatic but you get the picture.
I have basic additives (gypsum, citric acid) and pH papers .
Will treat water with campden tab and boil first to reduce hardness. Water comes from the Purbeck hills near Poole on the south coast and is considered hard. Makes a 'chink' sound as it drips from the taps.
The question is really how quickly do you need to react after each test and how often should you test?
I have a water report but don't really know what to do with it. Guidance please. Thanks in advance.

You need to start with the water report and go from there, maybe post up the numbers. As its your first all-grain then I would run a brew without making additions to the water or mash to get a baseline understanding of what is happening by taking readings throughout the mash process and cooled wort before fermenter and final beer. As your brew is a Stout then the mash ph is not as critical as if it was a light beer, no real need to sweat it on this one.

Unless the mash is way, way higher than expected, then I've used lactic acid and tested after about 5 mins per addition, not sure about citric in the mash, never used it. As you are in a high water area then the mash/water will be resistant to change anyway and there is a risk that you could over compensate (don't ask how I know :laugh8:), the beer will still come good in the end whatever you do.