New to AG and need help batch sparging

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DJBigPhil

Reaction score
Hi there. This is my first post so please go easy but I am in need of some help and hopefully some kind soul on here can lend me some.

So I am relatively new to AG brewing (on my 6th batch). As part of my set up, i built my own picnic cooler mash tun (with 29 litre cooler from Argos) with tap and bazooka filter. Overall, it maintains heat very well and on the face of it, works great but I am finding that I am getting huge variations in OG. In my most recent batch, I was expecting OG of 1.059 and ended up with 1.038 so something is going awry. I am pretty certain that my whole mashing/sparging process is just not great for my set up so that is where I am looking for help.

In my most recent brew day, I was following a recipe for a traditional English Golden Ale. All quantities and specifics all run through Beer Smith so I know it’s not just down to human error on my grain bill and water quantities.

Below is a broad outline of my mash/sparging steps:

• Mashed with 15 litres 75 degree water for 1 hour (temp in mash tun was a constant 66 degrees)

• Gentle stir

• Vorlauf until clear

• Emptied in to kettle as quickly as possible until flow stopped

• Added another 16 litres sparge water at around 80 degrees

• Gently stirred

• Left for 15 minutes

• Gently stirred again

• Vorlauf until clear

• Drained as quickly as possible

• Boiled as normal in kettle