New to Whole Grain.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Neil1454

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm Extremely new to this.
I have the "Home Brew Beer" book by Greg Hughes. Never having done anything out of it. But read allot of the intro etc.
Just wondered if someone would clarify my understandings please...

1: I'm looking for an easy first beer mash to do from the book. Easier the better. Any suggestions?
2: Mash is where I get the desired litres of water to temp and then I add the grains and maintain the temp i.e 65c for the desired time. Usually 1hr. Sparge with water at 74-77c. Enough to take to the required boil liquid requirements.
3: For the boil I ramp up the temp to like 100 degrees and the top up liquid will have come from the sparge to what is stated for the boil e.g 27 litres and boil for stated time e.g 1 hr and 15 mins.
4: 27 litres will reduce to the 23 litres that is indicated to make.

Then I cool as quick as poss and then move to FV, add yeast at stated temp and ferment out?

Thanks

Basically yes. Though the finer points need ironing out to get it just right. A "dry run" setting up and getting to know your gear and seeing if where you intend to brew etc will work is a good idea. Next you need to work out,this can happen by trial and error over a few brews, what your system losses through boil off and kettle loss and grain absorption will be as this affects your volumes. Is your cleaning and sanitation up to scratch? You need to work out your water temp to achieve your mash temp...adding 65 degree won't work as the grain will drop the temp. You need "sufficient" time to complete your brew...no good having to just nip out...then add couple of hours!!
As for recipes..the single hop pales are a great starting point!
Enjoy!

Ditto @RichardM above.