pH of RO Water

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am sure that when I first got my RO filter I tested the output water and it was pH 6 (cheap pH meter). I have recently tried to be a bit more scientifically accurate with my water treatment and have invested in a more expensive HM pH meter. Tested my RO water yesterday and it was 4.9. Checked calibration of meter etc and all correct. I understand that RO water can have a lower pH as it absorbs CO2 from the atmosphere but I was still surprised by the result from water collected in the past half hour. Do people generally test their RO water pH before brewing? I'm thinking of what figure to enter into the brewfather water calculator... Thanks.

I am no expert but out of interest have just been reading on the internet some say the PH should be between 5 and 7 but some say it should 7 which is neutral?.
I would say that yours is erring on the edge of what is expected but it would be brilliant for doing a sour beer.
By the way with it being low and if I am correct doesn't the grain when added lower the PH more?
Have you been brewing with this water as low before and have you noticed a tartness to your beers just out of curiosity

I am no expert but out of interest have just been reading on the internet some say the PH should be between 5 and 7 but some say it should 7 which is neutral?.
I would say that yours is erring on the edge of what is expected but it would be brilliant for doing a sour beer.
By the way with it being low and if I am correct doesn't the grain when added lower the PH more?
Have you been brewing with this water as low before and have you noticed a tartness to your beers just out of curiosity
RO water has no buffering capability, one drip of something alkaline will turn the water alkaline. Also heating the water will drive off the CO2 and the pH will rise.